Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 XPEL Chevrolet dominated Sunday’s Honda Indy 200 presented by HPD Ridgeline at the Mid-Ohio Sportscar Course to take Team Penske’s first win of the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season.

The Tennessee native took victory from pole just ahead ofcthe fast charging Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Honda while championship leader Alex Palou in the No.10 NTT DATA Chip Ganassi Racing Honda was third.

It was a solid race for defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda as the Iceman came home in fourth place just ahead of Alexander Rossi and Graham Rahal.

Romain Grosjean in the No.51 Nurtec ODT Honda for Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing had a great race coming through the field with a damaged front win to end up in seventh place just ahead of Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Santino Ferrucci in the No.45 Hy-Vee Honda.

Takuma Sato in the No.30 Panasonic MiJack Honda rounded out the top ten just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.14 ROKiT Chevrolet.

Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 PPG Chevrolet was 12th just ahead of Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda who had two disastrous pitstops dropping him down the order finishing the race just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Conor Daly and Rinus VeeKay.

James Hinchcliffe in the No.29 Honda was 17th after another disastrous race for the Canadian which saw him collide with his teammate Ryan Hunter-Reay on the opening lap of the race.

Max Chilton was 18th jist ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey while on his IndyCar debut Ryan Norman was 20th for Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing.

Dalton Kellett was 21st for AJ Foyt Racing just ahead of Jimmie Johnson, Felix Rosenqvist and Ryan Hunter Reay.

There were two retirements from the race with Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet spinning and hitting Ed Jones as he attempted to overtake Scott Dixon.

The NTT IndyCar Series takes a summer break for the Olympics and will be back from August 6-7 with the inaugural Big Machine Music City Grand Prix on the streets of Nashville.

Share This