Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Verizon Chevrolet set the fastest speed in the opening practice session ahead of Sunday’s Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway. The defending series champion set a fastest speed od 183.711MPH ending the session just ahead of his team mate and Indianapolis 500 winner Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda ended the session in third and was the fastest Honda powered driver with a speed of 183.196MPH ending the session just ahead of his team mate Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Zach Veach in the No.26 Relay Group One Thousand One Honda ended the session in fifth place just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda was seventh fastest with a speed of 181.038MPH while Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet ended the session in eighth place.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Bryan Herta Autosport Honda was ninth while Chip Ganassi Racing’s Ed Jones in the No.10 US Solar Honda rounded out the top ten.

Series points leader Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing ended the session in 11th place just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Luther Automotive Group Honda.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda ended the session in 13th place just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s team owner Ed Carpenter in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet.

Birthday boy Gabby Chaves in the No.88 Harding Group Chevrolet was 15th fastest just ahead of Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack/Panasonic Honda.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Zachary Claman DeMelo in the No.19 Paysafe Honda ended the session in 17th place. Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet was 18th just ahead of Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 SealMaster Honda.

Charlie Kimball in the No.23 Tresiba ® Chevrolet was 20th just ahead of his Carlin team mate Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Matheus ‘Matt’ Leist in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet rounded out the order in 22nd place.

Share This