Josef Newgarden, in the No.2 Shell Team Penske Chevrolet, took a dramatic victory to claim back-to-back Indianapolis 500 victories. In doing so, he became the first driver in 22 years to win back-to-back Indianapolis 500s. It is also Team Penske’s 20th Indianapolis 500 win as a team owner. Newgarden had four crew members missing from the race due to suspensions.

Newgarden came home just ahead of Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward, while Scott Dixon came from 21st place on the grid to finish on the podium in third place, having led the race for a time.

Alexander Rossi came home in fourth place for Arrow McLaren, while championship leader Alex Palou came home in fifth place, just ahead of pole-sitter Scott McLaughlin. Kyle Kirkwood ended the day in seventh place, just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Santino Ferrucci, while Rinus VeeKay ended the race in ninth place.

It was a fantastic day for Dreyer and Reinbold Racing with Cusick Motorsports as Conor Daly in the No.24 Polkadot Chevrolet rounded out the top ten. The race was delayed by four hours due to heavy rain, lightning, and thunderstorms in Indianapolis.

There were 16 race leaders and a total of 48 lead changes. Callum Ilott came home 11th for Arrow McLaren. At the same time, Christian Rasmussen was 12th, just ahead of Christian Lundgaard and Takuma Sato, who was 14th for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, just ahead of his teammate Graham Rahal. At the same time, Sting Ray Robb had a solid race, coming home in 16th place just ahead of Ed Carpenter and Kyle Larson, who suffered a drive-through penalty.

Helio Castroneves was 20th just ahead of Kyffin Simpson and Agustin Canapino while Colton Herta was 23rd and the final runner. Will Power was classified in 24th just ahead of Marco Andretti and Ryan Hunter Reay while Felix Rosenqvist was 28th just ahead of Katherine Legge and Marcus Armstrong while Tom Blomqvist was 31st just ahead of Pietro Fittipaldi while Marcus Ericsson rounded out the order in 33rd.

Share This