Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Fitzgerald Glider Kits Chevrolet led the way in the opening practice session for Sunday’s Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway on Saturday morning.

Newgarden completed a fastest lap of 17.3397s ending the session just ahead of Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet and reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud in the No.1 Menards Chevrolet. Ed Carpenter made it is an all Chevrolet top four as he ended the session in fourth place in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet.

Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti was the fastest Honda driver in the No.27 #CheckItForAndretti entry ending the session in fifth place just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda while Schmidt Peterson Motorsport’s Mikhail Aleshin in the No.7 Lucas Oil Honda was seventh. Alexander Rossi was eighth for in the No.98 NAPA Auto Parts Honda for Andretti Herta Autosport.

James Hinchcliffe was ninth fastest for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports in the No.5 Arrow Honda while Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Gehl Honda rounded out the top ten.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Charlie Kimball was 11th in the No.83 Tresiba® Honda just ahead of his team mate Max Chilton in the No.8 Gallagher Honda. Rookie Ed Jones in the No.19 Boy Scouts of America Honda for Dale Coyne Racing was 13th fastest just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Carlos Munoz while Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda was 15th fastest.

Series points leader Scott Dixon was forced to sit out the last 20 minutes of the practice session as a result of a penalty from Road America with the New Zealander ending the session in 16th place just ahead of JR Hildebrand in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing who was brought to the infield care center following heavy contact with the wall which resulted in the steering wheel coming out of the cock-pit.

Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet ended the session in 18th place just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Esteban Gutierrez in the No.18 Honda.

Takuma Sato was 20th for Andretti Autosport while Conor Daly rounded out the order in 21st place for AJ Foyt Racing.

Share This