Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hitachi Chevrolet secured his second NTT IndyCar Series championship with seventh place finish in the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series season ending Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTech Raceway.

The Tennessee native started the race from fourth place on the grid however with Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing finishing the race in third place and Alexander Rossi finishing the race in sixth place Newgarden won the championship by 29 points from Simon Pagenaud.

Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda finished the season in third place just ahead of former champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

NTT P1 Award winner Colton Herta in the No.88 Capstone Honda for Harding Steinbrenner Racing took his second win of the season coming home ahead of Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet for Team Penske while Scott Dixon scored another podium with third place.

Indianapolis 500 winner Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 DXC Technology Chevrolet finished the race in fourth place just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda and Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda finished the race seventh just ahead of new champion Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hitachi Chevrolet. I

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda ended the race in ninth place just ahead of Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda rounding out the top ten. Marcus Ericsson came home in 11th place just ahead of Graham Rahal and Max Chilton.

Marco Andretti came home in 14th just ahead of Charlie Kimball and Tony Kanaanand Mathues Matt Leist.

Zach Veach came home in 18th just ahead of Spencer Pigot and Takuma Sato. Conor Daly was 22nd just ahead of Ed Jones and Santino Ferrucci rounded out the order un 24th place. Newgarden wins the championship by 25 points.


Share This