Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Shell Team Penske Chevrolet is the Indianapolis 500 champion after an utterly insane 107th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on Sunday.

In a last lap shootout with 2022 Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson, Newgarden claimed the win coming across the line to The Captain’s 19th Indianapolis 500 victory as an owner.

There were a total of three red flags in the race and Newgarden took victory just ahead of Ericsson and AJ Foyt Racing’s Santino Ferrucci who gave Super Tex his best result in 25 years.

Pole sitter Alex Palou in the No.10 American Legion Honda came home in fourth place just ahead of Alexander Rossi and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon.

In what may have been his last race of the year, Takuma Sato came home in 7th just ahead of Conor Daly and Colton Herta.

Rinus VeeKay was handed a drive through penalty for a collision in pitlane with Alex Palou and rounded out the top ten.

It was a great day for Dreyer and Reinbold Racing’s Ryan Hunter-Reay who came home in 11th just ahead of Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Callum Ilott and Devlin DeFrancesco.

Scott McLaughlin was 14th for Team Penske just ahead of Helio Castroneves and Tony Kanaan who ended his last Indy 500 in 16th.

Marco Andretti was 17th just ahead of Jack Harvey and Christian Lundgaard.

Ed Carpenter retired from the race following contact while Benjamin Pedersen also retired from the race. Graham Rahal was also forced to retire from the race as did Will Power, Simon Pagenaud and Pato O’Ward.

Agustin Canapino and Felix Rosenqvist retired as did Kyle Kirkwood.

Santino Ferrucci said that this one stings it’s bitter sweet as he ended the race in third but said he feels so proud of the entire team.

Share This