The Verizon IndyCar Series heads into an extremely busy period with three races in the next three weeks starting with the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono Raceway this weekend. The 500 mile race takes place on what is known as the ‘Tricky Triangle’ as the circuit has just three corners.

It has been an extremely impressive season for the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2017 with Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden who moved to Roger Penske’s outfit ahead of the season replacing Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Chevrolet. The Tennessee native is the only driver to have won three races this season.

In the 13 races we’ve had this season we have had nine winners from six teams. Josef Newgarden heads to Pocono Raceway with a seven point advantage over his team mate Helio Castroneves in the race for the series championship.

Team Penske are the most successful team at the Tricky Triangle with nine wins, their most recent came in 2016 with Will Power.

Penske’s winners are, Mark Donohue (1971), Tom Sneva (1977), Bobby Unser (1980), Rick Mears (1982, 1985 and 1987), Danny Sullivan (1989), Juan Pablo Montoya (2014) and Will Power (2016).

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon won here in 2013, on the Verizon IndyCar Series return to the Tricky Triangle when Ganassi swept the podium with Dario Franchitti finishing second and Charlie Kimball in third.

Share This