The Verizon IndyCar Series has entered into its traditional busiest time of the year with the Month of May playing host to both the Grand Prix of Indianapolis and the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil.

Team Penske’s series points leader Josef Newgarden heads into the Indy 500 off the back of victory at Barber Motorsports Park however despite leading the championship he faces stiff competition from up and down the grid.

Helio Castroneves returns to the Verizon IndyCar Series for the Month of May, competing in both the IndyCar Grand Prix of Indianapolis and the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil where he will drive the ‘yellow submarine’ No.3 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet.

Danica Patrick returns to the Indianapolis 500 for the first time since 2011 and has a best finish of third place which came in 2009. Patrick is driving the No.13 Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing who have a great record at the Speedway with team owner Ed Carpenter having been on pole position twice while Josef Newgarden also had great success with ECR having started the race on the front row in 2016.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda and his team mate Ed Jones in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda have been very strong at the Speedway so are also in the mix.

Sebastien Bourdais is also very strong at the Speedway as are Andretti Autosport who will have six drivers in the field for this year’s race including two previous winners in Ryan Hunter Reay and Alexander Rossi.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing have a great opportunity fielding three cars this year with Spain’s Oriol Servia joining Graham Rahal and defending Indianapolis 500 winner Takuma Sato at the team for the month of May.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsport’s James Hinchcliffe and Robert Wickens have been extremely competitive so far this season and will have added data to work with as they are joined by Jack Harvey and Jay Howard for the race. The Mayor of HinchTown has sat on the pole position here while Robert Wickens has been extremely quick at the Speedway during his Rookie Orientation Programme earlier this week so is sure to be strong during the race.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan was the fastest driver on the opening day of practice on Monday having set a fastest speed in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet of 226.181MPH so the the 2013 Indianapolis 500 winner and Verizon IndyCar Series veteran is set to be a contender for the race win at the end of May.

Share This