Team Penske owner Roger Penske has confirmed that there will be no team orders among his five drivers in the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway next weekend.

Penske said that team have five drivers who can win the Indianapolis 500 this year. Team Penske have won 16 Indianapolis 500 titles and ‘The Captain’ may be able to win 17th 500 title.

Penske are running five cars this season with Juan Pablo Montoya returning for the month of May in the No.22 Fitzgerald Glider Kits Chevrolet joining regulars Helio Castroneves, Will Power, reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud in the No.1 Menards Chevrolet and the team’s newest driver Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hum by Verizon Chevrolet.

Penske said that he has told his drivers that they can race each other as long as they don’t take each other out in Turn 1 on the opening lap.


Share This