Formula One driver Lando Norris took his maiden win on his debut in the NTT IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge at the Circuit of the Americas in Austin Texas for the AutoNation Challenge and said that the key to his win was Will Power’s spin.

Norris came home ahead of Patricio O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet giving the team their first 1-2 albeit in the virtual world but a great result for the team as Norris was working with his ex F1 engineer Andrew Jarvis who has moved across to Arrow McLaren SP.

Norris who started from pole alongside Will Power spun early on in the race but spun early in the race however fought his way back through the field to win the race with a two stop strategy with Patricio O’Ward in second. It was a great race for Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda as he came home in third place.

Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin in the No.2 Shell V Power Chevrolet came home in fourth place just ahead of Dale Coyne with Vasser Sullivan Racing’s Santino Ferrucci in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda while Will Power who made a great getaway from second on the grid and fought at the front before spinning late in the race. The Australian recovered to finish in 6th.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay in the No.21 Sonax Chevrolet had a great race coming home in seventh just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda.

Alex Palou in the No.55 Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh Honda had a fantastic race running up front but had to settle for ninth place while defending champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 PPG Team Penske Chevrolet rounded out the top ten.

Following a strong outing last weekend in Motegi, Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda came home in eleventh place just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Felipe Nasr.

Last year’s winner at COTA, Colton Herta in the No.88 Capstone Honda for Harding Steinbrenner Autosport had to settle for 13th just ahead of last week’s winner Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 DXC Technology Team Penske Chevrolet.

Alexander Rossi in the No.27 AutoNation Honda for Andretti Autosport was 15th just ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda was 16th just ahead of Graham Rahal in the No.15 One Cure Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. Dalton Kellett in the No.41 K Line Insulators Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing was 18th just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s James Hinchcliffe in the No.29 Genesys Honda while in his first NTT IndyCar Series iRacing Challenge event Chaz Mostest rounded out the top 20 in the No.98 US Concrete Honda.

Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet for Carlin Racing was 21st just ahead of Ed Carpenter in the No.50 Direct Supply Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Tony Kanaan in the No.14 Big Machine Sanitizer Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing was 23rd just ahead of his team mate Sebastien Bourdais in the No.4 Tresiba Chevrolet while Spencer Pigot in the No.45 Embrace Pittsburgh Honda for RLL with Citrone Buhl Autosport was 25th just ahead of Zach Veach and Kyle Kaiser.

Oliver Askew in the No.7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet was 28th just ahead of Conor Daly in the No.20 US Air Force Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Takuma Sato in the No.30 ABeam Consulting Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing was 30th just ahead Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda for Andretti Autosport. Robert Wickens was 32nd in the No.6 Lucas Oil Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet while Sage Karam in the No.24 Wix Filters Chevrolet failed to finish after disconnecting.

Share This