Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Sebastien Ogier is a seventh time FIA World Rally Champion after claiming victory in the season ending ACI Rally Monza in Italy.

The Frenchman took victory by 13.9s from Hyundai Motorsports Ott Tanak and his team mate Dani Sordo, a result which sees Hyundai Motorsports claim the 2020 FIA World Rally Championship Manufacturers title.

It was a great end to the season for the M-Sport Ford WRC Team’s Esapekka Lappi as he came home in fourth place just missing out on a podium.

Toyota Gazoo Racing’s Kalle Rovanpera was fifth overall just ahead of Andreas Mikkelsen and Oliver Solberg and Jari Huttunen. Mads Ostberg was ninth while Pontus Tideman rounded out the top ten.

It was an extremely disappointing rallt for Elfyn Evans who came home in 26th place meaning he lost out on the championship by eight points.

Ott Tanak ends the season in third place in the championship just ahead of Thierry Neuville and Kalle Rovanpera while M-Sport Ford WRC Team’s Esapekka Lappi and Teemu Suninen ended the year in sixth and seventh respectively.

Dani Sordo ends the season in eighth place just ahead of Craig Breen while Sebastien Loeb rounded out the top ten.

Hyundai Motorsports were crowned champions on 241 points just ahead of Toyota Gazoo Racing who ended the season on 236 points.

The M-Sport Ford WRC Team ended the year in third place on 129 points.

The 2021 FIA World Rally Championship season is set to get underway in just over a month with Rally Monte Carlo which takes from January 21-24.

Share This