There may not be any Racing at the moment due to the worldwide global COVID 19 pandemic so here at Paddock Eye we decided to that starting today, we will take a look back at some of the memorable moments in recent NTT IndyCar Series history. We start our journey with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal.

On Sunday April 6, 2008, following the merger of IndyCar and CART into one entity under the Indy Racing League, Graham Rahal made his IndyCar Series debut with Newman Haas Lanigan Racing with both team and driver moving to the new series at the Honda Grand Prix of St Petersburg, the second race of the season.

Rahal in the No.6 Hole In The Wall Camps Honda started the race from ninth place and carved his way through the field in the wet to score his maiden victory in his IndyCar Series debut becoming the youngest race winner at 19 years and 93 days, a record which stood up to last year when at the age of 18 years and 359 days Colton Herta took victory in the IndyCar Series Classic at the Circuit of the Americas for Harding Steinbrenner Racing.

At St Petersburg, Rahal’s team mate Justin Wilson in the No.2 McDonald’s Honda led for 18 laps but finished the race in 9th place just behind KV Racing’s Will Power and Andretti Green Racing’s Danica Patrick in the No.7 Motorola Honda.

At the front, Rahal controlled the race leading 19 laps taking victory ahead of Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves and Andretti Green Racing’s Tony Kanaan, since his first win in 2008 Rahal has taken a further five wins including the closest finish in NTT IndyCar Series history when he took victory at Texas Motor Speedway in 2016 just 8 thousands of a second ahead of James Hinchcliffe and Tony Kanaan.

Share This