NBCSN will air a special one hour Verizon IndyCar Series ‘Reflection’ on Thursday evening in honor of 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series champion Josef Newgarden of Team Penske.

The Tennessee native became the youngest series champion in more than a decade. The Verizon IndyCar Series served up ten different winners over the course of the 17 races during the 2017 season.

The special will air at 7PM ET and will be streamed via the Verizon IndyCar Series official youtube channel – https://www.youtube.com/indycar also via http://www.indycar.com and via https://www.facebook.com/indycar

Newgarden and the other award winners will be honored at a pre-season event to kick off the 2018 season at the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg in March.

Winners from 2017 include:

Championship driver (Astor Challenge Cup, $1 million): Josef Newgarden, Team Penske
Jostens Championship Driver (ring worth approximately $10,000): Newgarden
Championship team (Astor Challenge Cup): Team Penske
Championship team manager: Jon Bouslog, Team Penske
Chief mechanic of the year: Vance Welker, Team Penske
Sunoco Diamond Performance ($50,000): Newgarden
Sunoco Rookie of the Year ($50,000): Ed Jones, Dale Coyne Racing
TAG Heuer “Don’t Crack Under Pressure” ($25,000): Carlos Munoz, AJ Foyt Racing
PFC “Fast Brake” ($25,000): Newgarden
Verizon P1: Will Power, Team Penske
Second-place championship driver: Simon Pagenaud, Team Penske
Second-place championship team: Team Penske
Third-place championship driver: Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing
Third-place championship team: Chip Ganassi Racing
Manufacturer champion: Chevrolet

(Video courtesy of the Verizon IndyCar Series via youtube.com)

Share This