Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet came from 16th on the grid to claim victory in race 2 in Detroit and in doing so not only became the first repeat winner of the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series but has also taken the lead in the championship by one point from Alex Palou.

Josef Newgarden who led the race for most of the 70 lap event came home in second place just ahead of Alex Palou in the No.10 American Legion Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda came home in fourth just ahead of Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda who scored another strong result for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing. Will Power made up for his disappointing race on Saturday to come home in sixth place just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda.

Simon Pagenaud was eighth in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet just ahead of Marcus Ericsson while Santino Ferrucci rounded out the top ten.

Ryan Hunter Reay came home in 11th place in the No.28 DHL Honda just ahead of Takuma Sato, Alexander Rossi and James Hinchcliffe.

Conor Daly in the No.20 U.S Air Force Chevrolet was 15th just ahead of Sebastien Bourdais and Ed Jones while Rinus Veekay and Jack Harvey came home in 18th and 19th place respectively. Scott McLaughlin rounded out the top 20 with Jimmie Johnson in 21st just ahead of Max Chilton and Dalton Kellett.

Romain Grosjean suffered a brake failure for Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing while Oliver Askew also retired from the race. Next up is Road America next weekend.

Share This