Verizon IndyCar Series points leader Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 PPG Automotive Refinish Chevrolet for Team Penske has take his first race win at the Mid-Ohio sports car course leading home championship rival Will Power to give Roger Penske a 1-2 finish.

It was the Frenchman’s first Verizon IndyCar Series victory since the Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis in May.

Will Power was second and is now 58 points behind Pagenaud in the race for the championship with just four races remaining this season. It was a great day for Andretti Autosport as Carlos Munoz picked up his first podium since the Indianapolis 500 as he ended the race in third place.

Home favourite Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’ Shake Honda as he the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing driver finished the race in fourth place.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe recovered from a pit-lane speed violation penalty to finish the race in fifth place and in doing so has moved up to seventh place in the championship.

Conor Daly in the No.18 Jonathan Byrd’s Hospitality Honda for Dale Coyne Racing did a great job leading the race for much a considerable amount of time but was unfortunately unable to make fuel mileage and had to make a pit-stop at the end of the race however he was able to finish the race in sixth place.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Chevrolet ended the race in seventh place just ahead of Charlie Kimball who was the leading Ganassi car ending the race just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s  Takuma Sato who brought out the final caution of the day after hitting Sebastien Bourdais ended the race in ninth place.

Josef Newgarden in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet had a disappointing race, starting from third place on the grid he was hit by Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin in pit-lane and rounded out the top ten in the race.

Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Hawk Performance Chevrolet ended the race in 11th place just ahead of Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Chevrolet.

Marco Andretti in the No.27 Snapple Honda was 13th ending the race just ahead of team mate and Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi. Helio Castroneves finished the race in 15th place following a difficult day in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet. Castroneves collided with Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chevrolet.

Max Chilton finished the race in 16th place in the No.8 Gallagher Chevrolet while Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin ended the race in 17th place in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda after leading the race for a while and finished the race just ahead of Ryan Hunter Reay and the rookie Dale Coyne Racing’s RC Enerson who was competing in his first Verizon IndyCar Series race. The 19 year old suffered a problem with his fuel hose during one of his stops which dropped him down the field.

KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais was forced to retire following contact with Takuma Sato while Jack Hawksworth in the No.41 Supply Co AJ Foyt Racing Honda hit the tyre wall hard but was unhurt and was forced to retire.

Despite getting the car back on track, reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chevrolet retired from the race and a result has dropped to fifth in the standing equal on points with team mate Tony Kanaan with the pair 127 points behind series leader Simon Pagenaud with four races remaining.

The Verizon IndyCar Series moves on to Pocono in three weeks time for the ABC Supply 500.

Share This