Reigning Verizon IndyCar Series champion Simon Pagenaud in the No.1 DXC Technology Chevrolet led a Team Penske 1-2 during the second practice session on the streets of Toronto ahead of the Honda Indy Toronto on Sunday.

The Frenchman set a fastest time of 01:00.2573s ending the day just ahead of last year’s Toronto winner Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda ended the day as the fastest Honda powered car with the current points leader in third place.

It was a great session for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Honda aa he ended the day in fourth place just ahead of Iowa Corn 300 winner Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet.

Marco Andretti was sixth fastest for Andretti Autosport ending the day just ahead of Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Devilbiss Chevrolet for Team Penske.

Indianapolis 500 champion Takuma Sato was 8th for Andretti Autosport just ahead of his team mate Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda while JR Hildebrand in the No.21 Preferred Freezer Services Chevrolet for Ed Carpenter Racing rounded out the top ten.

Max Chilton was 11th fastest for Chip Ganassi Racing just ahead of his team mate Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda’

Spencer Pigot put in a strong performance for Ed Carpenter Racing ending the day in 13th place in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet.

Alexander Rossi was 14th fastest for Andretti Autosport just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Conor Daly in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet.

Home favorite James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Honda ended his day in 16th place for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Carlos Munoz in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet who brought out a red flag towards the end of the session after stopping on track.

Charlie Kimball in the No.83 NovoNordisk Diabetes Canada Honda was 18th for Chip Ganassi Racing just ahead of Esteban Gutierrez in the No.18 Unifin Honda for Dale Coyne Racing who brought out the red flag after two laps as a result of hitting the wall at Turn 1.

Ed Jones ended the day in 20th place in the second Dale Coyne Racing Honda while Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Sebastian Saavedra rounded out the order in 21st place.

Share This