Meyer Shank Racing’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.60 AutoNation Honda was the fastest driver in the opening practice session at Texas Motor Speedway on Saturday with a speed of 223.087MPH ending the session just ahead of Arrow McLaren SP’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.7 Vuse Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who ran a 222.878MPH.

Colton Herta was third fastest with a speed of 222.786MPH while Callum Ilott was the surprise as he ended the session in fourth place with a 222.257MPH just ahead of Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 XPEL Chevrolet was fifth with a speed of 222.234MPH just ahead of five-time Texas race winner Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda who set a speed of 222.215MPH.

Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet was seventh with a speed of 222.204MPH just ahead of Marcus Ericsson’s No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda while Romain Grosjean was ninth. Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Alex Palou in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda rounded out the top ten with a speed of 221.744MPH.

Devlin DeFrancesco was 11th for Andretti Autosport with a speed of 221.737MPH just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Takuma Sato who set a 221.609MPH just ahead of Graham Rahal with a speed of 221.547MPH.

Josef Newgarden was 14th and ended his session early as he is happy with his Team Penske Chevrolet with a speed of 221.397MPH ending the session just ahead of Kyle Kirkwood who set a 221.354MPH for AJ Foyt Racing.

Helio Castroneves was 16th for Meyer Shank Racing with a 221.225MPH just ahead of Christian Lundgaard and David Malukas.

Will Power was 19th in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet with a speed of 221.105MPH just ahead of Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts AutoNation Honda who set a 220.818MPH.

Ed Carpenter was 21st just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Jimmie Johnson in the No.48 Carvana Honda who set a 220.426MPH just ahead of Jack Harvey and Rinus VeeKay. Conor Daly was 25thjust ahead of Dalton Kellett while J.R Hildebrand rounded out the order in 27th place.

Share This