Team Penske’s Verizon IndyCar Series points leader Simon Pagenaud secured his seventh Verizon P1 Award at Sonoma Raceway setting a time of 01:16.2565s.

The Frenchman has now extended his championship lead to 44 points over team mate and title rival Will Power to 44 points. Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet will start the race on the front row alongside Pagenaud.

Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Verizon Chevrolet start the race from third place while championship contender Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet will start the race from fourth place. Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’Steak Honda will start the race from 5th place.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda starts the race from 6th place. Reigning series champion Scott Dixon starts the race from seventh place in the No.9 Target Cevrolet.

Alexander Rossi in the No.98 Castrol Edge Honda will start the race from eighth place just ahead of KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais while Josef Newgarden rounds out the top ten for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Mikhail Aleshin starts the race from 11th place in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda just ahead of Charlie Kimball in the No.83 Tresiba® Chevrolet.

Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Chevrolet starts the race from 13th place just ahead of the No.27 Snapple Honda of Marco Andretti. Takuma Sato in the No.14 ABC Supply Co Honda for AJ Foyt Racing starts the race from 15th place just ahead of Carlos Munoz in the No.26 hhgregg Honda for Andretti Autosport.

Jack Hawksworth starts the race from 17th place for AJ Foyt Racing just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Max Chilton. Spencer Pigot starts the race from 19th place for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Honda endured a tough session, after making contact with the wall at turn 11 during third practice the Mayor of HinchTown failed to progress from Goup 2 and will start the race from 20th place just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Conor Daly while RC Enerson rounds out the grid in 22nd place.

Share This