Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 PPG Automotive Refinish Chevrolet took victory at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach just ahead of reigning series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet with pole sitter Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Auto Club of Southern California Chevrolet having dominated the race leading for 47 laps came completed the podium in third place.

Juan Pablo Montoya made it two Penske’s in the top four coming home in fourth place in the No.3 Verizon Chevrolet just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Takuma Sato.

For only the fourth time in the races over forty year history it went caution free. Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT Data Chevrolet finished the race in sixth place just ahead of of Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet.

Following a difficult start to his 2016 season, the mayor of Hinchtown, James Hinchcliffe had a good result coming home in eighth place in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda following an extremely close battle with Power in the closing stages of the race.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.11 California Baptist University KVSH Racing Chevrolet ended the race in ninth place with Josef Newgarden in the No.21 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet rounding out the top ten for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Charlie Kimball who led the race briefly finished the event in 11th place in the No.83 Tresiba® Chevrolet for Chip Ganassi Racing ending the race just ahead of Carlos Munoz who was the highest placed Andretti Autosport Honda on what was an extremely disappointing day for Michael Andretti’s team.

Conor Daly was impressive in the No.18 Jonathan Byrd’s Hospitality and Restaurant Group Dale Coyne Honda as he came home in 13th place just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.8 Gallagher Chevrolet.

Graham Rahal in the No.15 PennGrade Motor Oil Honda managed to make up a few places from his start position ending the race in 15th place for Rahal Lertterman Lanigan Racing with Theodore Racing coming home just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin in the No.7 SPM Racing Honda.

Luca Filippi in the No.19 Boy Scouts of America Dale Coyne Racing Honda finished the race in 17th place.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda ended up in 18th place leading team mate’s Marco Andretti in the No.27 United Fibers & Data /Snapple Honda and Alexander Rossi in the No.98 Castrol Edge /Curb Honda. Jack Hawksworth in the No.41 AJ Foyt Racing Honda rounded out the order in 21st place.

Next stop for the Verizon IndyCar Series is Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham Alabama for round four of the season next weekend, the last race before the action gets underway at Indianapolis Motor Speedway starting with the Angier’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis on May 14.

Simon Pagenaud goes into that race with a 14 point lead in the championship over Scott Dixon.



Share This