Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud has won the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series championship in style by taking his fifth victory of the season and first at Sonoma Raceway.

Pagenaud beat Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’ Shake Honda while in what was likely his last race for Team Penske, Juan Pablo Montoya finished on the podium in third place.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda finished the race in fourth place just ahead of Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi who ran out of fuel just on the line.

Josef Newgarden in the No.21 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet took sixth place despite a late challenge from Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet. Marco Andretti finished the race in eighth place in the No.27 Snapple Honda just ahead of Charlie Kimball who celebrated his 100th IndyCar race with a ninth place finish.

In what was likely his last race for KVSH Racing Sebastien Bourdais rounded out the top ten.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin and James Hinchcliffe ended the race in 11th and 12th place respectively just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan and AJ Foyt Racing’s Takuma Sato.

Carlos Munoz ended the race in 15th place in the No.26 hhgregg Honda. Max Chilton ended his rookie season in 16th place for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Scott Dixon had a disappointing race in the final event for Target as he ended the race in 17th place just ahead of Jack Hawksworth and Dale Coyne Racing’s RC Enerson. Will Power suffered a clutch issue which meant that the driver of the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet was unable to challenge for the championship and ended the race in 20th place.

There were two retirements from the race with Conor Daly and Spencer Pigot failed to finish the race due to mechanical issues.

Share This