Defending NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Alex Palou led 39 of the 85 laps of the Sonsio Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the IMS road course to claim his tenth career victory and take the lead in the championship heading into the biggest race of the year, the Indianapolis 500, in two weeks. Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Business Team Penske Chevrolet came home second just ahead of Christian Lundgaard of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing.

Six-time series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda came home in fourth place while Marcus Armstrong scored his career-best result with fifth place just ahead of Scott McLaughlin.

Colton Herta was the biggest mover, coming from 24th to finish the race in seventh place for Andretti Global. Alexander Rossi was eighth just ahead of Graham Rahal and Felix Rosenqvist who rounded out the top ten. Kyle Kirkwood was 11th, just ahead of Romain Grosjean, who had a great race for Juncos Hollinger Racing, coming home in 12th place just ahead of Pato O’Ward.

Pietro Fittipaldi was 14th, while Kyffin Simpson in the No.4 Journie Rewards Honda had a great race coming home in 15th place just ahead of Marcus Ericsson as the Grand Cayman Islands native ended the race as the highest-placed rookie.

Theo Pourchaire in the No.6 SmartStop Storage Chevrolet was 16th for Arrow McLaren just ahead of Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden who endured a difficult day in the No.2 Snap-On Team Penske Chevrolet as he finished the race in 18th place just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Jack Harvey. Christian Rasmussen rounded out the top 20.

Agustin Canapino ended the race in 21st place just ahead of Sting Ray Robb and Tom Blomqvist. Linus Lindqvist ended the race was 24th just ahead of Luca Ghiotto while Rinus VeeKay and Santino Ferrucci rounded out the order. Colton Herta was far from happy after his teammate Marcus Ericsson hit him and speaking to NBC following the race, Herta described Ericsson as an ###.

Practice for the Indianapolis 500 starts on Tuesday. Palou’s win today also means that there have been four different winners in the opening four points-paying races of the season.


Share This