Chip Ganassi Racing’s Alex Palou in the No.10 American Legion Honda took victory in the GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the IMS road course on Saturday afternoon.

The Spaniard led 52 of 85 lap race making it five different winners in the opening five races of the 2023 NTT INDYCAR SERIES season and as a result he moves into the lead of the championship.

It was a fantastic day Arrow McLaren who came home in second and third with Pato O’Ward and Alexander Rossi and for Rossi it was a great result as it is his first podium finish as a Arrow McLaren driver.

Christian Lundgaard who started from pole will be disappointed with his fourth place finish coming home just ahead of fellow front row starter Felix Rosenqvist.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda was sixth ending the race just ahead of Josef Newgarden and his Ganassi teammate Marcus Ericsson.

Colton Herta was ninth while Graham Rahal who qualified eighth rounded out the top ten.

Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 Chevrolet ended the race in 11th just ahead of Romain Grosjean and Will Power.

Rinus VeeKay was 13th for Ed Carpenter Racing just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Kyle Kirkwood.

Marcus Armstrong was 15th just ahead of Devlin DeFrancesco and Conor Daly while Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Callum Ilott was 19th.

It was a disastrous race for Jack Harvey in the No.30 Kustom Entertainment Honda who despite starting fourth ended the race by rounding out the top twenty.

Agustin Canapino was 21st just ahead of Helio Castroneves, Santino Ferrucci and Benjamin Pedersen who stopped on pit-road.

Simon Pagenaud also stopped on pit-road with an undiagnosed issue.

Dale Coyne Racing’s David Malukas and Sting Ray Robb also retired from the race. Next up for the NTT INDYCAR SERIES is the opening day of practice for the 107th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge on Tuesday.

Share This