NTT IndyCar Series championship points leader Alex Palou in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing led the way in practice ahead of qualifying later today for Saturday’s Big Machine Spiked Coolers Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the Indy road course after the Spaniard set a fastest time of 01:10.8839s ending the session just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Rinus VeeKay with a time of 01:10.9062s while Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet rounded out the top three with a time of  01:10.9267s.

Jack Harvey in the No.6 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda was fourth fastest with a time of 01:10.9397s ending the session just ahead of Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 XPEL Chevrolet who faces a six-place penalty in qualifying. Newgarden set a fastest time of 01:11,0850s.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Chevrolet for Team Penske who stopped out on track set the sixth fastest time with a 01:11.1113s. NTT IndyCar Series rookie and Alpine F1 Team development driver Christian Lundgaard was the start of practice as he ended the session in seventh place setting a time of 01:11.1412s ending up just ahead of his Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing teammate Graham Rahal in the No.15 One Cure Honda.

Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda was ninth fastest with a time of 01:11.2854s while Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay rounded out the top ten in the No.28 DHL Honda with a time of 01:11.2972s.

Alexander Rossi was 11th in the No.27 AutoNation Honda with a time of 01:11.3067s despite coming to a stop on track coming out the pit-lane.

Simon Pagenaud was 12th just ahead of Romain Grosjean who looks set to be heading to Andretti Autosport next season to replace Ryan Hunter Reay. Conor Daly was 14th for Ed Carpenter Racing just ahead of defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda who set a time of 01:11.4858s ending the session just ahead of Helio Castroneves and James Hinchcliffe.

Sebastien Bourdais was 18th for AJ Foyt Racing just ahead of Felix Rosenqvist in the No.7 Vuse Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet. Scott McLaughlin rounded out the top twenty.

Ed Jones was 21st just ahead of Top Gun Racing’s RC Enerson. Takuma Sato was 23rd just ahead of Max Chilton and Dalton Kellett. Colton Herta had a nightmare session as he suffered a clutch problem and was forced to stop on track bringing out a red flag.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Jimmie Johnson and Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing’s Cody Ware rounded out the order in 27th and 28th place respectively.

Share This