Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Alex Palou in the No.10 American Legion Chip Ganassi Racing Honda was fastest in the opening practice ahead of tomorrow’s GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

The Spaniard set a fastest time of 01:10.4555s ending the morning just ahead of Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Callum Ilott who continues to impress having set a time of 01:10.4593s.

Will Power was third fastest in the No.12 Verizon 5G Team Penske Chevrolet with a time of 01:10.5277s while Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 Fifth Third Bank RLL Honda was fourth fastest with a time of 01:10.6125s.

Arrow McLaren SP’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.7 Vuse Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet was fifth with a time of 01:10.7108s.

Marcus Ericsson was sixth fastest for Chip Ganassi Racing in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Honda with a time of 01:10.7123s while Simon Pagenaud was seventh for Meyer Shank Racing with a time of 01:10.7459s with the Frenchman ending the morning session just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.45 Hy Vee Honda who set a time of 01:10.7817s.

Helio Castroneves in the No.06 Sirius XM AutoNation Meyer Shank Racing Honda was eighth despite bringing out the red flag late in the session with time of 01:10.7911s. Andretti Autosport’s Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda rounded out the top ten with a time of 01:10.8352s.

Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet was P11 with a time of 01:10.8584s just ahead of Romain Grosjean in the No.28 Gleaners Food Bank of Indiana Honda who set a time of 01:10.8597s.

Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda was 13th fastest with a time of 01:10.8632s despite pitting early in the session for his team to check the engine but Mike Hull, Managing Director with Chip Ganassi Racing revealed there was no issue for the Iceman.

Christian Lundgaard was 14th for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing in the No.30 Shield Cleansers Honda with a time of 01:10.8853s ending the session just ahead of Alexander Rossi in the No.27 AutoNation NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Josef Newgarden was 16th just ahead of his teammate Scott McLaughlin, David Malukas and Conor Daly. Devlin DeFrancesco rounded out the top 20.

Rinus VeeKay revealed following the session that the No.21 Chevrolet crew has a lot of work to do as they ended the session in 21st place just ahead of Takuma Sato and AJ Foyt Racing’s Kyle Kirkwood. Jimmie Johnson was 24th in the No.48 Carvana Honda just ahead of the returning Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.6 Lucas Oil Mission Foods Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet who set a time of 01:12.0074s.

AJ Foyt Racing’s Dalton Kellett and Tatiana Calderon rounded out the order in 26th and 27th place respectively. A total of 434 laps were completed in the opening practice session.

Share This