Defending NTT INDYCAR SERIES champion Alex Palou in the No.10 DHL Chip Ganassi Racing Honda took the lead in the championship following his victory in the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey on Sunday; The Spaniard, who started the race from pole took victory despite a charge from Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge.

Speaking following the race, Palou said:

It was a chaotic race, man. “We didn’t do a very good job on the starts and those restarts at the beginning. The strategy was a bit risky for the position we were in, but we knew we had the pace, and we just had to execute.”

“At that time, I doubted (the strategy) a little bit. “I didn’t know if my radio was working or not. But everything was fine. I’m sorry I didn’t have that trust, that belief in his call during those 10 or 20 seconds, but overall an amazing job for the Ganassi team.” “Too intense there at the end with those restarts, but an amazing win for the No. 10 DHL car,

Alexander Rossi scored his first podium finish of the season in the No.7 VELO Arrow McLaren Chevrolet with a third place. It was a fantastic race for Romain Grosjean of Juncos Hollinger Racing as the Frenchman finished the race in fourth place giving JHR their best-ever race result.

Kyle Kirkwood who started the race from second place came home in fifth just ahead of last year’s race winner Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Chip Ganassi Racing Honda as the Iceman came from tenth on the grid to finish in sixth just ahead of Will Power who has the championship lead to Palou. Pato O’Ward was eighth while Santino Ferrucci returned AJ Foyt Racing to the top ten with a ninth place in the No.14 Sexton Properties Chevrolet while Marcus Ericsson rounded out the top ten for Andretti Global.

Felix Rosenqvist, who started the race in third place, came home in 11th just ahead of Nolan Siegel, who recovered from a spin and started in 23rd place to end his first race with Arrow McLaren in 12th just ahead of Christian Rasmussen and Pietro Fittipaldi.

Christian Lundgaard came home in 15th place just ahead of David Malukas who ended his first race with Meyer Shank Racing in 16th place.

Linus Lindqvist of Chip Ganassi Racing finished the race in 17th place, while Agustin Canapino was 18th. Josef Newgarden’s tough season continued, as the Tennessee native ended the race in 19th place after being handed a drive-through penalty.

Sting Ray Robb rounded out the top twenty ending the race just ahead of Scott McLaughlin and Marcus Armstrong who brought out a caution after spinning on track.

Kyffin Simpson retired from the race after contact with Agustin Canapino caused him to have a flat tire and spin, which put him into Graham Rahal. Jack Harvey suffered a fire at the rear of his car, while Rinus VeeKay and Luca Ghiotto were also forced to retire.

It was the end of an era as for the next race in Mid-Ohio, the teams will use the brand new hybrid systems.



Share This