Team Penske has had a solid start to the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season with Josef Newgarden in fourth place in the championship, 88 points behind leader Alex Palou while Simon Pagenaud is in fifth place on 255 points. Will Power in eleventh place on 204 points while Scott McLaughlin is in 12th place in the championship on 180 points.

In the opening race of the season, the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motor Speedway Will Power ended the race in third place. At the following race, the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg, Josef Newgarden came home in second place just ahead of his teammate Simon Pagenaud in third.

In the third race of the season, the Genesys 300 at Texas Motor Speedway, IndyCar Series newcomer Scott McLaughlin in the No.3 PPG Chevrolet picked up his maiden NTT IndyCar Series podium finish with a second-place finish just behind race winner Pato O’Ward of Arrow McLaren SP.

In race 2 of the Texas Motor Speedway doubleheader, the Genesys 300, Josef Newgarden came home in second place. At the GMR Grand Prix of Indianapolis at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, Penske’s best result was a fourth-place finish for Josef Newgarden. In the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge which took place on Sunday, May 30 Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet came home in third place.

In Detroit race one, the best Penske result was a tenth place finish for Josef Newgarden while race 2 in Detroit saw Will Power come home in sixth place.

At the REV Group Grand Prix of Road America last weekend, Josef Newgarden had been on course to win the race but suffered a gearbox issue which saw him go from first to 21st while Will Power came home on the podium in third place. Team Penske has yet to win a race this season and the last time the team failed to win a race in a season was back in 1999.

There are seven races remaining in the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season however, this year the NTT IndyCar Series has been extremely competitive with five teams having won races this year.

Chip Ganassi Racing – four victories, 2 for Alex Palou and one each for defending series champion Scott Dixon and Marcus Ericsson.

Ed Carpenter Racing – one win for Rinus Veekay.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Helio Castroneves has won the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge,

Andretti Autosport has a victory with Colton Herta.

Arrow McLaren SP has two wins for Pato O’Ward.

Share This