Team Penske could secure a 1,2,3 finish in the 2016 Verizon IndyCar Series championship. One of Roger Penske’s drivers either Simon Pagenaud or Will Power will be crowned the series champion following the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma next weekend.

Three of Roger Penske’s drivers have won races this season with Juan Pablo Montoya, Simon Pagenaud and Will Power took victory this season. Team Penske have won 9 of the 15 races so far this season. Three of the drivers with Penske, Simon Pagenaud, Will Power and Helio Castroneves have contracts in place with ‘The Captain’ next season.

Juan Pablo Montoya has yet to agree terms on a new contract with Penske suggesting that he just wants the Colombian to run the Indianapolis 500 next season for Penske however it is believed that Montoya is only interesting in running a full-time programme next season.

It will be an interesting few weeks following the Verizon IndyCar Series finale with contracts being sorted out.

Castroneves goes into the GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma next weekend equal on points with reigning series champion Scott Dixon on 451 points however Josef Newgarden is very close to top three as he is on 446 points in 5th place.

Castroneves will be hoping that he can secure his first Verizon IndyCar Series win since the Chevrolet Dual in Detroit race 2 in 2014.


Share This