Team Penske president Tim Cinderic has hit back at speculation that the outfit will reduce their number of entries in the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2017 from four cars to two saying that the team will remain a four car operation.

Cindric has already confirmed that he does not see any change in their line up for next season with points leader Simon Pagenaud, Will Power, Helio Castroneves and Juan Pablo Montoya all set to stay in 2017. Penske has three drivers occupying the top three spots in the Verizon IndyCar Series points standings with four races remaining.

Simon Pagenaud heads into this weekend’s race the ABC Supply 500 at Pocono Raceway with a 58 point advantage over Will Power while Helio Castroneves is in third place.

Cinderic confirmed that the team are concentrating on wrapping up the championship before sorting out drivers but the team do not anticipate any changes in that situation so it will be status quo at the Captain’s team for 2017.

Share This