BWT Racing Point Formula One Team’s Sergio Perez came from the back of the field following the first restart of the Sakir Grand Prix at the Bahrain International Circuit to claim his first Formula One Grand Prix win becoming the first Mexican to win a race since 1970.

Speaking following the race he said I don’t know what to say, I hope I am not dreaming. We won today on merit.

Perez came home just ahead of Esteban Ocon in the Renault F1 Team while Lance Stroll gave the team a double podium coming home in third place. Perez took victory and does not have a race drive for next season but confirms he will be back in 2022.

Carlos Sainz came home in fourth for McLaren just ahead of Daniel Ricciardo and Alex Albon. Daniil Kvyat came home in seventh just ahead of Valtteri Bottas and George Russell came home in eighth and ninth place respectively after a disastrous race for the Mercedes AMG PETRONAS F1 Team as George Russell who made a fantastic start was forced to make an extra stop after the team put the wrong tyres on his car.

Lando Norris rounded out the top ten for McLaren Racing. Pierre Gasly was eleventh just ahead of Sebastian Vettel and Antonio Giovinazzi and Kimi Raikkonen for Alfa Romeo Racing ORLEN.

Kevin Magnussen and Jack Aitkin were 15th and 16th respectively. Pietro Fittipaldi was 17th while Nicholas Latifi, Charles Leclerc and Max Verstappen retired from the race.

Share This