Peugeot’s Stephane Peterhansel has won the 2017 Dakar Rally taking victory ahead of his team mate and countryman Sebastien Loeb.

Peterhansel took victory despite coming second in the final stage of the Dakar behind team Sebastien Loeb who won the days stage by 00:00:19 from Peterhansel with Giniel D Villiers in third place.

Cyril Despres ended the say in fourth place just ahead of Toyota’s Conrad Rautenbach. Peterhansel led a Peugeot 1,2,3 with Sebastien Loeb ending the rally 00:05:13 behind his countryman while Cyril Despres was third. Nani Roma was fourth for Mini while Giniel De Villiers rounded out the top five.

Speaking following his win, Peterhansel commented by saying:

We were fighting with six or seven drivers at the beginning of the race and after a while, they were only four. “And during the last week, we were only two – just Seb and I. We fought really strongly and I am the winner in the end – but it’s a small detail. This is the victory of experience.

Share This