The 2020 NTT IndyCar Series season may have just concluded with Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda claiming his sixth championship crown in what was a nail biting championship decider against Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden.

The 2020 season went ahead despite the ongoing COVID 19 global pandemic. The season began in June with the Geneyes 300 at Texas Motor Speedway where Scott Dixon claimed victory and won three races in a row.

When it comes to 2021, there is plenty to look forward to with the addition of the Music City Grand Prix in downtown, Nashville Tennessee which takes in the Tennessee Titans stadium.

There have been plenty of driver changes for 2021 with Felix Rosenqvist joining Pato O’Ward at Arrow McLaren SP.

Indianapolis 500 champion Takuma Sato remains with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing for 2021 alongside Graham Rahal.

Andretti Autosport are set to continue with five cars next season. Paddock Eye understands that James Hinchcliffe will return to full-time NTT IndyCar Series competition with Andretti Autosport.

Team Penske return to a four car full-time programme with Josef Newgarden, Will Power and Simon Pagenaud joined by three time Australian Supercar champion Scott McLaughlin who makes his full time IndyCar Series switch.

Seven time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson will make the switch from racing with a roof to an open wheel car having signed a two year contract to race with Chip Ganassi Racing in the No.48 Carvana Honda on road and street course events.

The NTT IndyCar Series and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway have been transformed under the ownership of Roger Penske.

Share This