Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Team Penske Chevrolet rolls off from pole with a speed of 181.428MPH and starts just ahead of his teammate Scott McLaughlin and Josef Newgarden. Speaking to Paddock Eye following qualifying about claiming his 69th and 70th career NTT P1 Awards, Power said:

Yeah, it’s fantastic to get another pole, another two poles in a season. Qualifying, we’ve struggled this year.

Yeah, the race will be interesting to see. Guys tested here. Have other cars have improved on their race setup. The race is so much different to qualifying, it really is.

Felt like we got a pretty good balance. We’ll see. Massive tire degradation, huge.

Six-time series championship Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing was the best-placed Honda in fourth place just ahead of Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward and Colton Herta.

Runaway championship leader Alex Palou in the No.10 The American Legion starts the race from seventh place just ahead of Romain Grosjean and David Malukas while Marcus Ericsson rounds out the top ten in the No.8 Huski Chocolate Chip Ganassi Racing Honda who set a fastest speed of 177.930MPH.

Takuma Sato in the No.11 Deloitte Honda starts the race from 11th place just ahead of Devlin DeFrancesco and Graham Rahal and Helio Castroneves while RInus VeeKay starts the race from 15th just ahead of Ryan Hunter Reay.

Kyle Kirkwood starts the race from 17th place just ahead of Ed Carpenter and Toronto race winner Christian Lundgaard in the No.45 Hy-Vee RLL Honda. Alexander Rossi starts the race from 20th place just ahead of Felix Rosenqvist and Conor Daly while Juncos Hollinger Racing’s Callum Ilott and Agustin Canapino. Jack Harvey starts the race from 26th due to an avoidable contact nine place grid penalty from Toronto. Santino Ferrucci starts the race behind him with Sting Ray Robb and Benjamin Pedersen at the back.

Share This