Will Power in the No.12 Verizon 5G Team Penske Chevrolet has tied with legend Mario Andretti for the most number of IndyCar Series pole positions at 67 after securing the P1 Award for the Bommarito Automotive Group 500 at World Wide Technology Raceway. Power set a two-lap average speed of 182.727MPH and in doing so has earned a bonus point to stretch his championship lead to seven points over Scott Dixon.

Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Bryant Chip Ganassi Racing Honda starts the race from second place after the Indianapolis 500 champion just missed out on scoring his first career pole with a two-lap average of 182.070MPH.

Josef Newgarden in the No.2 PPG Team Penske Chevrolet starts the race from third place following a two-lap average of 181.629MPH just ahead of Scott McLaughlin.

Chip Ganassi Racing locked out the third row with Alex Palou in the No.10 American Legion Honda and Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda who set a two-lap average of 180.954MPH while Pato O’Ward starts the race from seventh just ahead of Takuma Sato and Delvin Defrancesco while Alexander Rossi rounds out the top ten.

Colton Herta starts the race from 11th just ahead of David Malukas and Simon Pagenaud while Jack Harvey starts the race from P14 just ahead of Conor Daly and his Rahal teammate Graham Rahal.

Helio Castroneves starts the race from 17th with a two-lap average of 178.356MPH while Romain Grosjean starts the race from P18 thanks to a grid penalty. Christian Lundgaard starts the race from 19th just ahead of Kyle Kirkwood.

Jimmie Johnson starts the race from 21st place just ahead of Callum Ilott and Rinus VeeKay while Dalton Kellett is P24. Ed Carpenter starts his final race of the season in 25th while Felix Rosenqvist rounded out the order in 26th.


Share This