Verizon Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Chevrolet ended the afternoon session ahead of Sunday’s Verizon IndyCar Series race at the Mid-Ohio sports car course on top despite the session been cut short due to rain.

The Australian set a fastest time of 01:04.1962s ending the session just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Chevrolet who set a fastest time of 01:04.4663s ending the session just ahead of current series points leader Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 PPG Automotive Refinish Chevrolet.

Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’ Shake Honda was fourth fastest for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing ending the session just ahead of Josef Newgarden who was impressive for Ed Carpenter Racing setting a fastest time of 01:04.6932s. Charlie Kimball was sixth fastest in the No.83 Tresiba® Chevrelot.

The most impressive driver in the afternoon session was RC Enerson in the No.19 Boy Scouts of America Honda for Dale Coyne Racing. The 19 year old who makes his Verizon IndyCar Series race debut this weekend set the seventh fastest time a 01:04.7284s ending the session just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsport’s James Hinchcliffe topped the times early on in the session and ended his day in the No.5 Arrow Honda in 9th place just ahead of reigning series champion Scott Dixon who rounded out the top ten in the No.9 Target Chevrolet.

Ryan Hunter Reay was the highest placed Andretti Autosport driver in 11th place in the No.28 DHL Honda ending the day just ahead Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet while Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi in the No.98 Castrol Edge Curb Honda was 13th fastest.

Carlos Munoz was 14th fastest with a time of 01:04.9843s just ahead of Conor Daly in the No.18 Jonathan Byrd’s Hospitality Honda.

Jack Hawksworth was 16th fastest in the No.41 ABC Supply Co AJ Foyt Racing Honda who ended the session just ahead of Juan Pablo Montoya in the No.2 Hawk Performance Chevrolet who set a fastest time of 01:05.0555s.

Max Chilton was 18th fastest just ahead of KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.11 Team Hydroxycut Chevrolet.

Mikhail Aleshin was 20th in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda with the Russian setting a fastest time of 01:05.2645s. Marco Andretti in the No.27 Snapple Honda was 21st with a time of 01:05.3078s while Takuma Sato rounded out the order in 22nd place in the No.14 ABC Supply Co AJ Foyt Racing Honda.

Share This