Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 5G Chevrolet was fastest in the opening practice session for Saturday’s Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

The Australian set a fastest time of 01:09.289s ending up just ahead of Spencer Pigot.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon driving the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing was the fastest Honda driver in third place with a time of 01:09.453s.

Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda was fourth fastest just ahead of Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda was sixth just ahead of his team mate Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda.

Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet was eighth just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma while Alexander Rossi rounded out the top ten.

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda was 11th just ahead of his team mate Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda for Meyer Shank Racing.

Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda was 13th just ahead of Ed Jones and Harding Steinbrenner Racing’s Colton Herta.

Carlin Racing’s Patricio O’Ward was 15th just ahead of Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics Honda for Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet was 18th just ahead of Sebastien Bourdais and Mathues Matt Leist.

Santino Ferrucci was 21st just ahead of Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda.

Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Pennzoil Chevrolet for Team Penske was 23rd after hitting the wall at Turn 10 at the end of the session while Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet rounded out the order in 24th.

Share This