Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet set the fastest time in the opening session ahead of Saturday’s IndyCar Grand Prix of Indianapolis.

The Australian set a fastest time of 01:09.3172s ending the session just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 NTT DATA Honda.

Josef Newgarden was third fastest just ahead of reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud while Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot was fifth fastest in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Vodka Chevrolet.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal was sixth fastest just ahead of Team Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya who returns to the cockpit this weekend driving the No.22 Fitzgerald Glider Kits Chevrolet.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Max Chilton was eighth fastest in the No.8 Gallagher Honda just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Carlos Munoz. Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe rounded out the top ten in the No.5 Arrow Honda.

Alexander Rossi was 11th fastest in the No.98 NAPA Auto Parts Honda just ahead of Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves.

Tony Kanaan was 13th fastest in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais while Takuma Sato was 15th for Andretti Autosport.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda was 16th just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Mikhail Aleshin.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s JR Hildebrand was 18th just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Ed Jones.

Charlie Kimball was 20th in the No.83 Tresiba® Honda just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti while Conor Daly rounded out the order in 22nd for AJ Foyt Racing.


Share This