Verizon Team Penske’s Will Power set the fastest time in the opening practice session ahead of Saturday’s Angie’s List Grand Prix of Indianapolis. Graham Rahal was second fastest for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing while Juan Pablo Montoya was third fastest.

Verizon IndyCar Series points leader Simon Pagenaud was fourth fastest just ahead of team mate Helio Castroneves.

Reigning series champion Scott Dixon was sixth fastest for Chip Ganassi Racing while Josef Newgarden was seventh fastest for Ed Carpenter Racing completing 24 laps. Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti was eighth fastest just ahead of KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais.

Carlos Munoz rounded out the top ten in the No.26 hhgregg Honda for Andretti Autosport. Ryan Hunter Reay ended the session just outside the top ten in 11th place just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Spencer Pigot.

Alexander Rossi was 13th fastest just ahead of Jack Hawksworth in the No.41 ABC Supply Co AJ Foyt Racing Honda.

Mikhail Aleshin was 15th fastest just ahead of Dale Coyne Racing’s Gabby Chaves.

Max Chilton was 17th fastest just ahead of Charlie Kimball while Takuma Sato was 19th fastest for AJ Foyt Racing.

Conor Daly was 20th fastest for Dale Coyne Racing just ahead of NTT Group’s Tony Kanaan while JR Hildebrand was 22nd just ahead of Alex Tagliani. Matthew Brabham rounded out the running in 24th place. Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe failed to set a time due to an issue with the No.5 Arrow Honda.

Share This