Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet took his eighth Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg pole position having set a fastest time of 01:00.4594s.

The defending Indianapolis 500 winner starts the race just ahead of his team mate Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hitachi Chevrolet.

The pair have given Penske a front row lock out. Speaking following the session Power said he was surprised and it is awesome and a great start.

NTT IndyCar Series rookie Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing is best of the rest starting the race from third place.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon driving the No.9 PNC Bank Honda starts the race from fourth place.

Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda starts the race from fifth just ahead of his team mate Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Speaking following the action, Rossi said they are going to go back to the drawing board as he was suffering from understeer.

It was a spectacular qualifying for Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda as the Englishman starts the race from seventh place.

It was a great session for Charlie Kimball in the No.23 Tresiba Chevrolet as he starts the race from 8th place just ahead of Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda.

Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing rounds out the top ten.

Colton Herta starts the race from 11th place for Harding Steinbrenner Racing in the No.88 Latitude Vacation Club Honda while the stand out performer in the session was rookie Ben Hanley and DragonSpeed as they start their first NTT IndyCar Series race from 12th place.

Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet starts 13th just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda.

Ed Jones starts the race from 15th place having outqualified his team mate Spencer Pigot who starts 16th for Ed Carpenter Racing.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda starts from 17th just ahead of rookie Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics Honda.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda starts the race from 19th and will be looking to carve his way through the field like last season.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 Panasonic Seeman Holtz Honda starts from 20th place just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Tony Kanaan and Mathues Matt Leist.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Santino Ferrucci and Max Chilton of Carlin Racing round out the order.

Share This