Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet took the NTT Pole position award for Sunday’s inaugural IndyCar Classic at the Circuit Of The Americas in Austin Texas.

The Australian took his pole of the season with a time of 01:46.0177s and starts the race just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda.

Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda starts the race from third place while Colton Herta in the No.88 Latitude Vacation Club Honda was sensational and starts the race from fourth place having set a time of 01:46.3594s.

Chip Ganassi Racing team mate’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda and defending series champion Scott Dixon driving the No.9 PNC Bank Honda rounded out the Firestone Fast Six.

Championship leader Josef Newgarden in the No.2 PPG Chevrolet starts the race from seventh just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Patricio O’Ward who starts his first race with the Florida based outfit from eighth place.

Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda starts the race from ninth place while Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal who drives the No.15 Total Honda rounds out the top ten.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Santino Ferrucci in the No.19 David Yurman Honda scored his best starting position to date as he will roll off 11th just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Mathues Matt Leist in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet.

Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet starts the race from 13th place alongside Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Takuma Sato in the No.30 MiJack Panasonic Honda.

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda rolls off 15th alongside his team mate Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics Honda.

Dale Coyne with Vassar Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda starts the race from 17th place just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing with Scuderia Corsa’s Ed Jones in the No.20 Chevrolet.

Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet starts the race from 19th just ahead of Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda.

Juncos Racing’s Kyle Kaiser in the No.32 Chevrolet starts from 21st place and has Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards alongside him.

Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda and Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing round out the grid.

Share This