Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet secured his seventh Verizon P1 Award in eight races here at the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg claiming the 45th pole of his Verizon IndyCar Series career.

Speaking following his pole run, Power said that he will take it as it comes in the race on Sunday.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon will start the race from second place on the grid in the No.9 GE LED Lighting Honda having topped the times this morning and on Friday so it was a great result for the New Zealander. Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe did a fantastic job in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda as he will start the race from third place just ahead of Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet.

Takuma Sato is the lead Andretti Autosport driver as the Japanese driver starts the race from fifth place just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda who rounded out the Firestone Fast 6.

Max Chilton just missed out on a place in the Firestone Fast 6 and will start the race from seventh place just ahead of defending Indianapolis 500 champion Alexander Rossi in the No.98 NAPA Auto Parts Honda for Andretti Autosport. Charlie Kimball starts the race from ninth place in the No.83 Tresiba® Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing while Graham Rahal in the No.15 Steak N’Shake Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing rounds out the top ten.

Carlos Munoz starts the race from 11th place for AJ Foyt Racing just ahead of Ryan Hunter Reay who made contact with the wall at turn eight in his No.28 DHL Honda and was unable to get out to do another lap despite the work done by his crew as they ran out of time.

Spencer Pigot will start the race from 13th place for Ed Carpenter Racing in the No.20 Fuzzy’s Ultra Premium Vodka Chevrolet ending the session just ahead of reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud who rolls off from 14th place following a time of 01:01.6129s. Following a strong weekend to date, Andretti Autosport’s Marco Andretti in the No.27 hhgregg Honda was left frustrated as he will start the race from 15th place just ahead of Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves.

Mikhail Aleshin starts the race from 17th place in the No.7 SMP Racing Honda just ahead of Verizon IndyCar Series rookie Ed Jones in the No.19 Dale Coyne Racing Honda.

JR Hildebrand will start the race from 19th place for Ed Carpenter Racing just ahead of Conor Daly’s No.4 ABC Supply Co. Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing while Sebastien Bourdais rounds out the grid in 21st place after stopping out on track during the opening session bringing out a red flag.

The Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg, the opening race of the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series goes green tomorrow at Noon ET.

Share This