Team Penske’s Will Power took victory at IndyCar Grand Prix of Indianapolis on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course. The Australian started the race from pole position and and took victory just ahead of Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon who came from 18th place on the grid and finished the race in second place picking up his first podium finish of the season.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda fought with Will Power for the win and ended the race in third place.

Vasser Sullivan racing with Dale Coyne Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Honda finished the race in fourth place. Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda finished the race fifth just ahead of Team Penske’s Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Verizon Chevrolet.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda finished the race in seventh place just ahead of Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet.

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda and his team mate Takuma Sato came home in ninth and tenth place respectively.

Defending series champion Josef Newgarden in the No.1 Verizon Chevrolet ended the race in 11th place for Team Penske. It was a great day for Dale Coyne Racing’s Zachary Claman DeMelo in the No.19 Paysafe Honda as the Canadian finished the race in 12th place just ahead of Bryan Herta Autosport’s Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda.

Tony Kanaan finished the race in 14th place for AJ Foyt Racing just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Preferred Freezer Services Chevrolet.

It was a great race for Carlin Racing’s Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet as he finished the event on the lead lap in 16th place gathering plenty of data for the team and importantly completing another race distance for the outfit.

Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves in the No.88 Harding Group Chevrolet finished the race in 17th place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Kyle Kaiser in the No.32 Chevrolet finished the race in 19th place for Juncos Racing just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Charlie Kimball while Matheus ‘Matt’ Leist finished the race in 21st place for AJ Foyt Racing in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet.

Ed Jones was classified in 22nd place one lap down in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing.

Zach Veach and Jordan King both retired from the race. The next event in the big one, the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil with Josef Newgarden leading the championship by two points from Alexander Rossi.

Share This