Team Penske’s Will Power took his second win in three races at the Portland Grand Prix after Scott Dixon suffered a battery failure forcing the Iceman to pit for a new battery handing Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet the win.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda came home in second place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda. It was a disappointing day for pole sitter Colton Herta in tha No.88 Capstone Honda as he finished the race fourth place.

It was a great day for Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hitachi Chevrolet for Team Penske as the Tennessee native finished the race in fifth place and now has one hand on the NTT IndyCar Series championship Astor Cup trophy having extended his lead in the points race and with just the double points season finale to go this season something dramatic would have to happen for him not be champion for a second time.

It was a great race for Spencer Pigot in the No.21 Autogeek Chevrolet as he finished the race in sixth place just ahead of Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet for Team Penske while Mathues Matt Leist had a great day for AJ Foyt Racing coming home in eighth place.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.18 Team SealMaster Honda ended the race in ninth place just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Charlie Kimball who gave the team another strong finish to round out the top ten.

Max Chilton in the No.59 Gallagher Chevrolet in his first race since Mid Ohio finished the race in 11th place just ahead of Tony Kanaan in the No.14 ABC Supply Chevrolet for AJ Foyt Racing while Marco Andretti in the No.98 Oberto Circle K Honda ended the race in 13th place just ahead of Ed Jones and Takuma Sato.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing no longer has a realistic change of winning the championship in 2019 after suffering a battery failure which meant he finished the race three laps down on winner Will Power.

Santino Ferrucci retired from the race as did Ryan Hunter Reay after contact with Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey. The season went from bad to worse for the Mayor of HinchTown who was caught up in a first corner incident which took out Graham Rahal who instigated the accident, Conor Daly and Zach Veach.

The 2019 NTT IndyCar Series heads to the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at WeatherTeach Raceway Laguna Seca in three weeks time with four drivers still in the running for the title but anything can happen in the NTT IndyCar Series as today shows.

Share This