Team Penske’s Will Power took victory in Sunday’s 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil. The Australian ended the race just ahead of pole sitter Ed Carpenter while Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank rounded out the top three.

Speaking following the race, Power said:

On the white flag lap, I started screaming because I just knew I was going to win it. “Unbelievable! Never been so excited.

Power who started the race from third place on the grid went on to say:

This month was one of the best months I’ve had,” . “Very relaxed, in tune with my engineer, just working really well. It just came together.”

Team owner Roger Penske commented by saying:

He won this race today because he was the best.

“This closes the book for what he wanted to accomplish in INDYCAR: win a championship (2014), now is tied for winning the most races as an Indy driver for the team (31) and the Indy 500 is something that he wanted to do from the very beginning. … He’s in a different world right now, which is important.

Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda for Andretti Aurtosport finished the race in fourth place just ahead of his team mate and 2014 Indianapolis 500 champion Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet ended the race in sixth place just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Carlos Munoz while defending series champion Josef Newgarden finished the race in eighth place just ahead of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Robert Wickens in the No.6 Lucas Oil Honda.

Graham Rahal had a fantastic race as he came through the field from 30th place on the grid to finish the race by rounding out the top ten for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing in the No.15 United Rentals Honda.

JR Hildreband in the No.66 Dreyer & Reinbold Chevrolet ended the race in 11th place just ahead of Bryan Herta Autosport’s Marco Andretti while Matheus ‘Matt’ Leist in the No.4 ABC Supply Chevrolet ended the race in 13th place just ahead of Harding Racing’s Gabby Chaves in the No.88 Harding Group Chevrolet.

Andretti Autosport’s Stefan Wilson led the race in the closing stages and ended the race in 15th place just ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey while Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Oriol Servia ended the race in 17th place just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Charlie Kimball and Dale Coyne Racing’s Zachary Claman DeMelo.

Spencer Pigot was 20th for Ed Carpenter Racing just ahead of Conor Daly and Max Chilton while Zach Veach and Jay Howard rounded out the order.

It was a disappointing end to her career for Danica Patrick as the Ed Carpenter Racing driver retired from her final ever motor race.

Tony Kanaan led the race for AJ Foyt Racing before he was forced to retire from the race due to a collision. Sage Karam, Takuma Sato, James Davison, Helio Castroneves, 2017 champion Takuma Sato, Kyle Kaiser and Chip Ganassi Racing’s Ed Jones all retired from the race.

Share This