Well, it was worth the wait!! What an incredibly entertaining Firestone 600. Graham Rahal took his first victory of the Verizon IndyCar Series at Texas Motor Speedway on Saturday night.

Rahal in the No.15 MiJack Honda snatched the win right at the line from Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe winning the race by just .8s. Hinchcliffe who led from the restart completely dominated the race and was disappointed not have won but was happy with his best finish of the season to date.

Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Chevrolet completed the podium in third place. Series points leader Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Hewlett Packard Chevrolet finished the race in fourth place to extend his lead in the championship over team mate Will Power. Helio Castroneves in the No.3 AAA Insurance Chevrolet finished the race in fifth place.

Charlie Kimball in the No.83 Tresiba® Chevrolet finished the race in sixth place just ahead of pole sitter Carlos Munoz in the No.26 Andretti Autosport Honda.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet finished the race in eighth place just ahead of team mate Juan Pablo Montoya while KVSH Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais rounded out the top ten.

Indianapolis 500 winner Alexander Rossi finished the race in 11th place just ahead of team mate’s Marco Andretti and Ryan Hunter Reay while Gabby Chaves was 14th, the last of the runners.

There was drama throughout the field as while reigning series champion Scott Dixon was trying to get a lap back on then second placed Ed Carpenter the pair made contact resulting in Dixon retiring from the race he won last year. Carpenter himself would later retire from the race.

Late on in the event, Mikhail Aleshin in the No.7 SMP Racing Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda got sideways and was t-boned by the AJ Foyt Racing Honda of Jack Hawksworth, Hawksworth was helped away from his car with what looked like a foot or leg injury.

Max Chilton ended the race two laps down. The series moves on to Watkins Glen next weekend for the IndyCar Grand Prix at the glen with Simon Pagenaud maintaining his lead in the championship to team mate Will Power with the gap at 28 points while Tony Kanaan moves up to third place.

Josef Newgarden who was forced to miss the race has only lost two spots in the championship and is in fifth place, 123 points behind Pagenaud with two races remaining.

Share This