Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal in the No.15 United Rentals Honda says the car is more compliant on race day as he led the way in race day warm up and he says he hopes everyone uses their heads and goes racing. Rahal set a fastest time of 01:15.849s.

Defending NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon in the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing was second with a time of 01:15.879s.

The session was a real stop/start event with three red flags due to Rinus VeeKay and Felix Rosenqvist his the wall while Jimmie Johnson hit the wall hard off the bridge.

Pato O’Ward in the No.5 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet was third fastest with a time of 01:16.201s ending up just ahead of polesitter Colton Herta in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda who set a time of 01:16.376s.

Alex Palou in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda who starts today’s race from ninth place was fifth fastest just ahead of his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Marcus Ericsson in the No.8 Bryant Honda.

Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet who starts his home race from 12th as a result of a penalty ended the session in seventh place just ahead of Meyer Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda who set a time of 01:16.686s.

Romain Grosjean in the No.51 Nurtec ODT Honda for Dale Coyne Racing with Rick Ware Racing was 9th fastest with a time of 01:16.780s.

Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet rounded out the top ten with a time of 01:16.808s.

Sebastien Bourdais in the No.14 ROKiT Chevrolet was 11th just ahead of Alexander Rossi and Scott McLaughlin.

Ryan Hunter-Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda was 14th just ahead of James Hinchcliffe in the No.29 Capstone Honda just ahead of Conor Daly and Takuma Sato.

Rinus VeeKay in the No.21 Sonax Chevrolet was 18th just ahead of Will Power who was 19th just ahead of Ed Jones.

Felix Rosenqvist in the No.7 Vuse Chevrolet for Arrow McLaren SP was 21st just ahead of Helio Castroneves in the No.06 Transcard Honda.

Santino Ferrucci in the No.45 Hy-Vee Honda was 23rd just ahead of Jimmie Johnson and Cody Ware.

Dalton Kellett and Max Chilton rounded out the order.

Share This