Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal set tne fastest time in the opening session of the IndyCar Grand Prix at The Glen on Friday.

Rahal set a fastest time of 01:23.260s ending the session just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi who it was announced earlier today that the Californian will remain with Andretti in 2018.

Max Chilton in the No.8 Gallagher Honda was third just ahead of his Chip Ganassi Racing team mate Scott Dixon in the No.9 NTT DATA Honda.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe had a great session in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda as he finished in fifth place just ahead of Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot.

Ryan Hunter Reay was seventh just ahead of his team mate Marco Andretti. Series points leader Josef Newgarden was ninth fastest in the No.2 DevilBiss Chevrolet while reigning series champion Simon Pagenaud rounded out the top ten.

Helio Castroneves in the No.3 Hitachi Chevrolet was 11th fastest just ahead of AJ Foyt Racing’s Carlos Munoz.

Dale Coyne Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais was 13th fastest just ahead of his team mate Ed Jones. Tony Kanaan in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda was 15th.

Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet was 16th just ahead of Takuma Sato and Ed Carpenter Racing’s JR Hildebrand.

Conor Daly was 19th for AJ Foyt Racing just aheas of Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Jack Harvey while Charlie Kimball rounded out the order in 21st.

Share This