Verizon IndyCar Series team Chip Ganassi Racing have undergone some big changes over the course of the 2017 off-season.

At the end of the 2016 season, four time champion Scott Dixon lost his title sponsor when Target took the decision to leave Chip Ganassi Racing. Chip Ganassi Racing also went into 2017 with a new engine partner having moved from Chevrolet to Honda power.

In 2017, the team took one victory with Scott Dixon winning at Road America while the team took two Verizon P1 Awards with Dixon taking the pole for the 101st running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil while Charlie Kimball scored his first Verizon P1 Award at Texas Motor Speedway.

In 2018, Chip Ganassi Racing have scaled back their Verizon IndyCar Series involvement by downsizing from four to just two cars with the outfit talking to former Verizon IndyCar Series driver Danica Patrick about a one off drive in the 102nd running of the Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil.

The team have brought in 2017 Sunoco Rookie of the year Ed Jones from Dale Coyne Racing to drive the No.10 Honda, replacing series veteran Tony Kanaan who has moved to AJ Foyt Racing for 2018.

Max Chilton and Charlie Kimball have also moved away from Chip Ganassi Racing, while Kimball has dropped hints that he will return to the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2018, it is unclear whether or not Max Chilton will return to the series having made his debut in the series in 2016 with Chip Ganassi Racing.

Scott Dixon is one of the most experienced drivers in the series and with Ed Jones on board, Chip Ganassi Racing have a great mix of youth and experience for the 2018 season and with one season with Honda under their belt the team have a full season of data under the belt to capitalize and challenge for the Verizon IndyCar Series championship in 2018 not just with Dixon but also with Jones.

The Verizon IndyCar Series hits the reset button in 2018 with the all-new universal aero-kits which have been tested by Ganassi and Dixon in recent weeks.

The 2018 Verizon IndyCar Series season gets underway from March 9-11 with the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg. For ticket information visit –

Share This