Mercedes Nico Rosberg set the fastest time of the morning in the opening session of the Malaysian Grand Prix weekend. The German set a fastest time of 01:35.227s ending the morning just ahead of team mate and championship rival Lewis Hamilton.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen was third fastest setting a time of 01:36.315s ending the session just ahead of team mate Sebastian Vettel.

Fernando Alonso did a fantastic job for McLaren Honda ending the session in fifth place with a fastest time of 01:36.510s ending the session just ahead of the Red Bull Racing duo of Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen.

Nico Hulkenberg and Sergio ‘Checo’ Perez were 8th and 9th for the Sahara Force India Formula One Team.

Jenson Button, who celebrated his 300th Formula One race start this weekend rounded out the top ten for McLaren.

Daniil Kvyat was 11th fastest for the Toro Rosso team ending the session just ahead of Williams Martini Racing’s Valtteri Bottas while Romain Grosjean was 13th fastest for the Haas F1 Team. Esteban Gutierrez was 14th in the second Haas car.

Carlos Sainz was 15th fastest for Toro Rosso ending the session just ahead of Felipe Nasr’s Sauber. Marcus Ericsson was 17th fastest just ahead of Williams Felipe Massa and Renault Sport F1 Team’s Jolyon Palmer.

The Manor Racing duo of Esteban Ocon and Pascal Wehrlein rounded out the order in 20th and 21st place respectively.

Kevin Magnussen missed the entire session after his car was engulfed in flames in the pit-lane in the opening minutes of the session which brought out the red flag.

Share This