World championship leader Nico Rosberg edged out team mate Lewis Hamilton to claim pole position for Sunday’s Japanese Grand Prix. The German set a fastest time of 01:30.647s.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen did a fantastic job ending the session as best of the rest behind the Mercedes duo in third place having set a fastest time of 01:30.949s, Sebastian Vettel had qualified in fourth place but will start the race from seventh due to his three place grid penalty.

Max Verstappen starts the race from fourth place for Red Bull Racing having set a fastest time of 01:31.178s and will start the race just ahead of team mate Daniel Ricciardo.

Sahara Force India’s Sergio Perez will start the race from sixth place having set a fastest time of 01:31.961s. Sebastian Vettel starts the race from seventh just ahead of the Haas F1 Team’s Romain Grosjean and Nico Hulkenberg while Esteban Gutierrez rounds out the top ten for the Haas F1 Team.

The Williams Martini Racing team duo of Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa start the race from 11th and 12th place respectively having just missed out on a place in the top ten.

The Toro Rosso pairing of Daniil Kvyat and Carlos Sainz start the race from 13th and 14th place just ahead of Fernando Alonso’s McLaren Honda and Renault Sport F1 Team’s Jolyon Palmer.

Jenson Button in the second McLaren starts the race from 17th place just ahead of his former team mate Kevin Magnussen.

The Sauber F1 Team duo of Marcus Ericsson and Felipe Nasr start the race from 19th and 20th place while Manor Racing’s Esteban Ocon and Pascal Werhlein round out the grid in 21st and 22nd place respectively.


Share This