Chip Ganassi Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist was the pace setter in the No.10 NTT DATA Honda as the opening practice session of the 2019 NTT IndyCar Series season got underway on Friday morning at the Firestone Grand Prix of St Petersburg.

The Swede set a fastest time of 01:01.821s just ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi Ryan Hunter Reay in the No.28 DHL Honda.

Fellow Swede and NTT IndyCar Series rookie Marcus Ericsson in the No.7 Arrow Electronics Honda for Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports was third fastest with a time of 01:02.081s.

Defending series champion Scott Dixon driving the No.9 PNC Bank Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing was fourth fastest with a time of 01:02.130s.

Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi in the No.27 NAPA Auto Parts Honda was fifth fastest with a time of 01:02.147s.

Takuma Sato in the No.30 Panasonic Honda for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing was sixth fastest on a fantastic morning for Honda.

Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden in the No.2 Hitachi Chevrolet was seventh with a time of 01:02.174s ending the session just ahead of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Graham Rahal who drives the No.15 United Rentals Honda.

Zach Veach in the No.26 Gainbridge Honda for Andretti Autosport was ninth fastest while Team Penske’s Will Power in the No.12 Verizon Chevrolet rounded out the top ten.

Dale Coyne with Vassar Sullivan Racing’s Sebastien Bourdais was 11th in the No.18 SealMaster Honda just ahead of Team Penske’s Simon Pagenaud in the No.22 Menards Chevrolet for Team Penske.

Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports James Hinchcliffe was 13th fastest in the No.5 Arrow Electronics Honda.

Ed Carpenter Racing’s Spencer Pigot was 14th fastest just ahead of Carlin Racing’s Charlie Kimball in the No.23 Tresiba Chevrolet who was 15th.

Jack Harvey in the No.60 AutoNation Sirius XM Honda for Meyer Shank Racing was 16th.

Harding Steinbrenner Racing’s Colton Herta in the No.88 Latitude Vacation Club Honda was 17th fastest.

Marco Andretti in the No.98 US Concrete Honda was 18th fastest just ahead of the AJ Foyt Racing duo of Tony Kanaan and Matheus Leist.

Santino Ferrucci was 21st fastest for Dale Coyne Racing just ahead of Ed Jones in the No.21 Ed Carpenter Racing with Scuderia Corsa.

Max Chilton was 23rd fastest for Carlin Racing while NTT IndyCar Series rookie Ben Hanley rounded out the order in 24th place for DragonSpeed.

Share This